Welcome back Dry January

I can’t believe its been almost a year since the last Dry January experiment. To recap, you can see the thread of posts here, but in short I went 31 days without drinking, saved well over $100 in beer and alcohol purchases and lost 9.5 pounds. This year we are going to do it again. I’ve already got one person who is joining with me in skipping the booze for 31 days and a lot of people who have asked me about it, but are not willing to set aside drinking during January. If you’d like to join in, I welcome you to help be my support group, and I’ll do the same for you.

This year Dry January starts early, in fact as I write this today, I’m already on day three of the quest. (10% done already!). I’m also back on pace, tracking my food in MyFitness Pal, and hoping that finally I can see that scale break the 200 mark for the first time in forever (I’ve gotten close!) I’m starting early as I’ve got a trip at the end of January on the 30th and 31st, which I’m not going to deprive myself of drinking. So, as to not set myself up for failure, I’m starting early this year to make sure I get the 31 days in.

Last year’s Dry January fit perfect between New Year’s Day and the Superbowl. This year, because of the schedule change, New Year’s Eve is part of my timeline. I’m ok with that. I drank my fair share over Christmas, and since I’ve come to regard NYE as amateur hour, I hope to be in bed by 10. Plus I’m smoking a pork butt that night for a get together the next day, and I’ll use the down time to keep an eye on the smoker. I also will have to contend with a couple of days at the National Western Stock Show and a couple of concerts in January, but those challenges are what makes resetting my relationship with alcohol rewarding at the end of the day.

I’ll keep you informed of my progress as the month wears on. Thanks in advance for the support that you showed last year and I know you will show again this year.

Leave a Reply

